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	<title>SEO Inc Blog &#187; Pay Per Click</title>
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	<description>Everything Search Engine Marketing</description>
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		<title>How The Google Search Ad Evolved in 2011</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/how-the-google-search-ad-evolved-in-2011-2/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/how-the-google-search-ad-evolved-in-2011-2/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 01 Feb 2012 02:01:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Eythor</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=3512</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[For most of Google&#8217;s history the search ad was relatively unchanged, but starting in late 2009 they began implementing additional extensions, formats and placements on the search page. 2011 turned out to be an incredibly busy time for these changes. Let&#8217;s take a look back: January 10th - Display URL&#8217;s Are Standardized to Display as Lowercase Letters Only Before: www.CoolExampleSite.com  [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>For most of Google&#8217;s history the search ad was relatively unchanged, but starting in late 2009 they began implementing additional extensions, formats and placements on the search page. 2011 turned out to be an incredibly busy time for these changes. Let&#8217;s take a look back:</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">January 10th</span></strong><strong> - Display URL&#8217;s Are Standardized to Display as Lowercase Letters Only</strong></p>
<p align="center">Before: <span style="text-decoration: underline;">www.CoolExampleSite.com</span>  |  After: <span style="text-decoration: underline;">www.coolexamplesite.com</span></p>
<p>The first change of 2011 removed a feature that enabled advertisers to capitalize letters within the display URL. This was useful to help make multiple word domains easier to read. However,  Google states that this change is made after determining that standardized display URL&#8217;s improved user metrics including click-through rates.<span id="more-3512"></span></p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">February 2nd</span></strong><strong> - Location Extensions Enhanced With a Distinctive Blue Pin</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/blue-pin-location-extension2.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3515" title="blue-pin-location-extension" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/blue-pin-location-extension2.png" alt="" width="588" height="112" /></a></p>
<p><strong></strong>This change affects only local searches for advertisers that have the location extension enabled. The blue pin is added to the location extension and integrated into the map when the ad qualifies to serve at the top of the page for a local search. This is a useful feature to help the advertiser stand out among a large set of listings.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">February 3rd</span></strong><strong> - Longer Headlines For Select Ads That Appear at the Top of the Page</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>Before:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/longer-headlines-before4.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3516" title="longer headlines - before" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/longer-headlines-before4.png" alt="" width="590" height="76" /></a></p>
<p>After:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/longer-headlines-after2.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3517" title="longer headlines - after" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/longer-headlines-after2.png" alt="" width="590" height="75" /></a></p>
<p>This update enabled advertisers to extend their headline to include the first line of description text as long it is a distinct sentence that ends with a punctuation mark. Google claims this enhances user experience by highlighting more information within the ad, but it could also be seen as an attempt to boost revenue by increasing clicks on paid instead of organic results. This was one of the most significant changes that Google has ever made to how search ads are displayed and provided a great opportunity for advertisers to enhance their messaging and increase click-through rates.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">March 24th</span></strong><strong> </strong><strong>- Media Ads Display Video Directly From the Search Page</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/media-ads3.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3518" title="media ads" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/media-ads3.png" alt="" width="586" height="102" /></a></p>
<p><strong></strong>Media ads are released as an automated feature that serves a video (usually a movie trailer) into the ad. This feature is available only to a limited set of advertisers (motion picture studios promoting new release features). Users can find these ads by searching for upcoming films and then view the trailer within the search result page by clicking the thumbnail image.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">March 30th</span></strong><strong> - The +1 Button is Added To Search Ads</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/+1-scroll-over1.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3519" title="+1 scroll over" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/+1-scroll-over1.png" alt="" width="296" height="95" /></a></p>
<p><strong></strong>A &#8220;+1&#8243; button is added to the right side of ad titles. Users can &#8220;+1&#8243; ads that they like when logged in by scrolling over the button and clicking as shown in the above image.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/ad-that-has-been-+1-by-friend1.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3520" title="ad that has been +1 by friend" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/ad-that-has-been-+1-by-friend1.png" alt="" width="296" height="128" /></a></p>
<p>Friends of users who have clicked the &#8220;+1&#8243; button are able to see that recommendation directly from the ad unit as shown above. This personalized experience is intended to help users identify advertisers that are most relevant to them. For advertisers this new feature makes it ever more important that their product and ad quality is worth recommending.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">April 25th</span></strong><strong> - Instant Preview for Search Ads</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/instant-preview1.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3521" title="instant preview" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/instant-preview1.jpg" alt="" width="400" height="269" /></a></p>
<p><strong></strong>Instant preview for organic results were first released in late 2010 and this update brings that feature to ads. Users are able to preview the landing page for ads by clicking on the instant preview icon and thereby enhance user experience and improve clickthrough quality for advertisers. This update puts added pressure on advertisers to enhance landing page design in order to produce a more quality preview.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">May 17th</span></strong><strong> - Display URL Shown in Headline For Select Search Ads</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>Before:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/url-before1.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3522" title="url - before" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/url-before1.png" alt="" width="590" height="96" /></a></p>
<p>After:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/url-after1.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3523" title="url - after" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/url-after1.png" alt="" width="590" height="92" /></a></p>
<p>Following the successful release of the extended headline in Febuary, Google followed up with this update which extends the ad headline with the display URL. Google states that the display URL can be an important deciding factor in whether a user clicks on an ad and would allow advertisers to more prominently feature their brand.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">June 7th</span></strong><strong> - Embedded Site Links Released</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/embedded-site-links1.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3524" title="embedded site links" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/embedded-site-links1.jpg" alt="" width="487" height="67" /></a></p>
<p><strong></strong>This feature enables advertisers to integrate site links into the text of their ad by matching a site link text exactly with a string of text within the ad. Google automatically detects the match and serves the link within the ad. This is a useful tool for advertisers to stand out in the listings and encourage users to click within the flow of their copy.</p>
<p><strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">November 2nd</span></strong><strong> - New Ad Placements on the Bottom of the Result Page</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/bottom-ads1.png"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-3525" title="bottom-ads" src="http://c289842.r42.cf1.rackcdn.com/bottom-ads1.png" alt="" width="400" height="274" /></a></p>
<p>With this update Google decided to move ads in the right margin to below the organic listings in some cases. Google stated that on average this placement performed better than ads in terms of click-through rate.</p>
<p><strong>Time To Catch Up</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>Now is a good time to review your ads and make sure they are taking full advantage of all the changes from 2011. Google released these changes at a rapid pace last year so it&#8217;s possible that you may have missed a few, but catch up soon because more are sure to be on the way in 2012.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/three-important-things-to-remember-before-creating-a-facebook-page/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">3 Things you Must Know Before Creating a Facebook Page</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/poll-could-changing-your-meta-tags-result-in-more-google-1s/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">POLL: Could Changing your Meta Tags Result in More Google +1s?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-sitelinks-make-big-impact-in-search-engine-space/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Google Sitelinks Have Big Impact in Search Engine Space</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/will-adding-a-google-increase-referring-site-traffic-research-report/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Will Adding a Google + Button Increase Referring Site Traffic? [Research Report]</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/track-traffic-across-multiple-subdomains-with-google-analytics/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">How To Track Traffic Across Multiple Subdomains With Google Analytics</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Why Facebook Advertising is Challenging Google AdWords</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/why-facebook-advertising-is-challenging-google-adwords/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/why-facebook-advertising-is-challenging-google-adwords/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 29 Aug 2011 17:59:04 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>John E Lincoln</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=2632</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Last week Burkan Bur and I taught a class at UCSD on social media, SEO and online advertising. What was interesting was that during the online advertising session the class really latched on to the benefits of Facebook ads. And to be honest, they are absolutely right to do so. Google has been a leader in the [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><strong>Last week Burkan Bur and I taught a class at UCSD on social media, SEO and online advertising. What was interesting was that during the online advertising session the class really latched on to the benefits of Facebook ads. And to be honest, they are absolutely right to do so.</strong></p>
<p>Google has been a leader in the online advertising space for some time now. They offer display ads, text ads, video ads and mobile ads. They offer ads on the display network, in search listings, on YouTube, in Gmail, in <a title="How to Create an Email Subscription for your Blog with RSS" href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/create-feedburner-email-subscription/" target="_blank">RSS feeds</a>, let’s just say they have had <a title="PPC Management" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/" target="_blank">online advertising </a>by the throat. But now they are being challenged by a real player, Facebook.<span id="more-2632"></span></p>
<div id="attachment_2638" class="wp-caption alignright" style="width: 203px"><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/facebook-advertising1.jpg"><img class="size-full wp-image-2638" title="Example Facebook Advertising Segementation" src="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/facebook-advertising1.jpg" alt="Example Facebook Advertising Segementation" width="193" height="230" /></a><p class="wp-caption-text">Example Facebook Advertising Segementation</p></div>
<p>Facebook advertising has developed what some might view as a competitive advantage through <em>likes</em> and <em>interests</em>. For example, let’s say you want to sell search engine optimization in San Diego. On Facebook you can target the following:</p>
<ul>
<li>Location – San Diego</li>
<li>Demographic – 25 to 55</li>
<li>Sex &#8211; All</li>
<li>Precise Interests – Search Engine Optimization, Internet Marketing, Search Engine Marketing, Marketing</li>
<li>Connections on Facebook</li>
<li>Advanced Connection Targeting: Target Users Who are Connected to your Page</li>
<li>Advanced Demographics</li>
<li>Interested In – All</li>
<li>Relationship – All</li>
<li>Education and Work</li>
<li>Education &#8211; College Grad</li>
<li>Work – Open</li>
</ul>
<p>The ability to target this specific demographic information is getting online advertisers everywhere excited, especially now that many of them have tried it and seen the results. With Facebook you can hit the exact age, the sex, the precise interest, you can decide if you want to target users already connect to a page and can even decide what relationship status you would like to market to. Moreover, you can choose education level and work place. Workplace is particularly fascinating. Looking to secure a new account at a particular company? Showing them an ad on Facebook might be a good idea.</p>
<p>The class asked me, “Can’t we do this through Google advertising?” My answer, “Ummm… Sorta.” Google works a little differently. First, lets define our mediums. We have the Google Display Network. In this network you can run text ads, image ads and video ads on other websites offering Google advertising. Then we have the search network. The search network displays ads after someone uses Google to perform a search. Both of these advertising options can be run through the Google AdWords interface.</p>
<p>Long story short, you can select demographic information for the Google Display Network, but it works a little different than Facebook. In Google, you can select a demographic group. This would be an audience that shares certain similar qualities. You can make this selection through the <a title="Google AdWords Placement Tool" href="http://adwords.google.com/support/aw/bin/answer.py?hl=en&amp;answer=179238" target="_blank">Google AdWords Placement Tool</a>.</p>
<div id="attachment_2639" class="wp-caption alignright" style="width: 232px"><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/Google-Demographic-Categories1.jpg"><img class="size-full wp-image-2639" title="Google Demographic Categories" src="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/Google-Demographic-Categories1.jpg" alt="Google Demographic Categories" width="222" height="236" /></a><p class="wp-caption-text">Google Demographic Categories</p></div>
<p>According to Google, “With the AdWords Placement Tool, you can pick your preferences in up to three different demographic categories. The system will analyze your preferences and create a list of available Google Network sites that are popular with that audience. If you select multiple demographics, the AdWords system will look for sites that match all of your preferences. For instance, you might ask the Placement Tool to look for sites popular with users who have children, or for sites popular with men earning a high income. The Placement Tool will then return a list of sites whose audience tends to match those demographic descriptions.”</p>
<p>The ability to filter websites by demographic and keyword relevance is a welcomed feature in AdWords. While that is the case, Google still lacks the power of being able to target on the granular level that Facebook offers. Likes, interest, age, sex, relationship and education on a person by person basis in the eyes of many marketers trump general Google Display Network website tendencies.</p>
<p>It should be noted that Google and Facebook have very similar location targeting systems. Basically, if you search on Google domain such as www.Google.fr you will see ads for France. However, if a user searches Google.com they will see ads based on the search term (example if a location is used), the physical location (IP Address) and Google Search personalization (blocked sites, location specification, etc.)</p>
<p>According to <a title="Facebook Ad Targeting Options" href="http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=863" target="_blank">Facebook</a>, they target location in a similar manner. “Facebook determines the location of a user based on IP (Internet Protocol) addresses, which can help identify the country or city where a user is physically located. If a user has listed a current address on their profile, they may see ads targeted to that location, regardless of where they are currently located. Ads are not targeted to a user&#8217;s geographic networks or any other information.”</p>
<p>In summary, Facebook has created specific user information that is valuable to advertisers. This has resulted in a percentage of advertising dollars shifting from Google AdWords campaigns to Facebook Ads. While this is the case, Google is not the type to be left behind. With the new <a title="Google + Update: What you Need to Know" href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-plus-update-what-you-need-to-know/" target="_blank">Google + initiative</a>, Google is collecting more user information than ever. If they are successful and smart in this endeavor, they may just have the info they need to take the power back from Facebook. Finally, it should be noted that certain advertising mediums work better for specific campaigns. Make sure you are always testing. While Facebook <em>likes</em> and <em>interest</em> may give your the targeting you need to convert in some situations, a Google Display Network site with a clear demographic may work better in others.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/u-s-display-ad-network-facebook-google-or-yahoo/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc. Poll: Who will win the U.S. Display Ad Network? Facebook, Google or Yahoo!?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/is-circleme-going-to-be-the-next-big-thing/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Is CircleMe Going to be the Next Big Thing?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-inc-achieves-google-adwords-certification/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc Achieves Google AdWords Certified Partner Status!</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/think-outside-the-searchbox/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Think Outside the (Search) Box</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/earned-owned-and-advertised-the-3-ways-to-get-facebook-likes/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Earned, Owned and Advertised, the 3 Ways to Get Facebook Likes</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>What is Pay Per Click Quality Score?</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/what-is-pay-per-click-quality-score/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/what-is-pay-per-click-quality-score/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 30 Nov 2010 22:28:04 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>John E Lincoln</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=1478</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Quality score refers to a method of evaluating Pay Per Click ads. This method of evaluation is use by Google and MSN, it is also used by Yahoo, but Yahoo refers to it as quality index. When running Pay Per Click, each ad is evaluated based on the both the bid and the quality score. [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Quality score refers to a method of evaluating Pay Per Click ads. This method of evaluation is use by Google and MSN, it is also used by Yahoo, but Yahoo refers to it as quality index.</p>
<p>When running <a title="Pay Per Click" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/" target="_blank">Pay Per Click</a>, each ad is evaluated based on the both the bid and the quality score. This is one of the main reasons why PPC experts are constantly adjusting their bids, in order to create the best relationship with their quality score as possible. The main goal is to allow an ad to rank in a position that will result in the highest conversions. Most times, positions 2 through 8 are the highest converting, however, this can alter based on keyword group and industry.</p>
<p><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-1481" title="quality-score" src="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/quality-score.jpg" alt="quality-score" width="535" height="359" /></p>
<p>Quality score for PPC was invented to allow search engines to display the most relevant ads. This allows advertisers to get more clicks, and the search engines to make more money off those clicks. Quality score was implemented about the same time as the minimum bid. The minimum bid had a large effect, as it allowed search engines to better qualify competition and make more money for certain keywords.</p>
<p>There are many factors involved in determining quality score for PPC. But like search engine optimization, many of the factors are discussed in general but real detail is never given. While this is the case, here are some of the known factors in determining quality score.</p>
<p><span id="more-1478"></span></p>
<p><strong>Click-Through Rate</strong></p>
<p>The amount of times an ad is clicked in regards to how many times it is shown, or CTR (Click Through Rate) is a major factor in quality score. This takes into account the keyword, the matched ad and the display URL being shown.</p>
<p><strong>Keywords in Ad Copy</strong></p>
<p>When determining quality score for PPC, the search engines gauge the relevance of the ad copy in relation to the keyword the advertiser is bidding on. Because of this, it is important to use keywords in your ad that match the keywords you are bidding on.</p>
<p><strong>Landing Pages</strong></p>
<p>Landing pages can play a role in your quality score. Search engines crawl the pages copy and code to evaluate the relevance of the keyword you are bidding on to the destination URL. Furthermore, landing page load time can also impact PPC quality score, as Google announced this in 2008.</p>
<p><strong>Other Considerations</strong></p>
<p>Google does have a slightly more advanced quality scoring system for PPC. Google takes into account the ads performance in a geographical location and some feel that it evaluates other items such as on site conversion data.</p>
<h2>Watch a Video on Quality Score for PPC</h2>
<h2><object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="560" height="340" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,40,0"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/K7l0a2PVhPQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /><embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="560" height="340" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/K7l0a2PVhPQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object></h2>
<p><strong>More on Quality Score</strong></p>
<p>According to Google, this is how quality score is determined for the Google search network:</p>
<ul>
<li><em>The historical clickthrough rate (CTR) of the keyword and the matched ad on Google; note that CTR on the Google Network only ever impacts Quality Score on the Google Network &#8212; not on Google </em></li>
<li><em>Your account history, which is measured by the CTR of all the ads and keywords in your account </em></li>
<li><em>The historical CTR of the display URLs in the ad group </em></li>
<li><em>The quality of your landing page </em></li>
<li><em>The relevance of the keyword to the ads in its ad group </em></li>
<li><em>The relevance of the keyword and the matched ad to the search query </em></li>
<li><em>Your account&#8217;s performance in the geographical region where the ad will be shown </em></li>
<li><em>Other relevance factors</em></li>
</ul>
<p>Google mentions that there are slightly different factors that effect ad position and first page bids:</p>
<ul>
<li><em>For calculating a keyword-targeted ad&#8217;s position, landing page quality is not a factor. Also, when calculating ad position on a Search Network placement, Quality Score considers the CTR on that particular placement in addition to CTR on Google. </em></li>
<li><em>For calculating first page bid, Quality Score doesn&#8217;t consider the matched ad or search query, since this estimate appears as a metric in your account and doesn&#8217;t vary per search query.</em></li>
</ul>
<p><strong>Quality Score for the Google Display Network</strong></p>
<p>According to Google, the quality score for calculating an ad&#8217;s eligibility to appear on a particular display network site, as well as the ad&#8217;s position on that site, consists of the following factors:</p>
<ul>
<li><em>The ad&#8217;s past performance on this and similar sites </em></li>
<li><em>The relevance of the ads and keywords in the ad group to the site </em></li>
<li><em>The quality of your landing page </em></li>
<li><em>Other relevance factors</em></li>
</ul>
<p><em>If the campaign uses cost-per-thousand-impressions (CPM) bidding, quality score is based on the quality of your landing page. If the campaign uses cost-per-click (CPC) bidding, quality score is based on the historical CTR of the ad on this and similar sites and the quality of your landing page.</em></p>
<p><strong>In Summary</strong></p>
<p>Ultimately, the higher your quality score the better off you will be from a ROAS (Return on Ad Spend) perspective. A higher quality score means lower bid prices and higher ad placement.</p>
<h3><em>Have questions about quality score for PPC? Add them below!</em></h3>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/relevance-and-importance-for-seo/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Relevance and Importance for SEO</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/discover-your-online-klout/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Discover Your Online Klout</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/what-is-facebook-edgerank/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">What is Facebook EdgeRank?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-plus-one-button/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Google Announces Plus One (+1) Button!</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/top-5-ppc-wishes-2009/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Top 5 PPC Wishes for 2009</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>PPC Click Through Rates vs. ROI: What&#8217;s Really Important?</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/ppc-click-through-rates-vs-roi-whats-really-important/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/ppc-click-through-rates-vs-roi-whats-really-important/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 30 Jul 2010 18:57:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>David Hall</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEM]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/ppc-click-through-rates-vs-roi-whats-really-important/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[One of the most common questions we get from website owners is: What is a good click through rate for a PPC campaign? This question is not as cut and dry as general click through rates for organic listings&#8230; PPC click through seems to have a much higher degree of variance based on the keyword [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div id="attachment_1024" class="wp-caption alignright" style="width: 350px"><img class="size-full wp-image-1024  " title="What is a Click Through Rate" src="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/what-is-a-click-through-rate.jpg" alt="While Click Through Rates Matter, it's Conversions that take the Question out of the Value of PPC" width="340" height="226" /><p class="wp-caption-text">In PPC, there is no Question that Conversions Trump Click Through Rate (CTR) </p></div>
<p>One of the most common questions we get from website owners is: What is a good click through rate for a <a title="PPC Management" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/" target="_blank">PPC campaign</a>?</p>
<p>This question is not as cut and dry as general click through rates for organic listings&#8230; PPC click through seems to have a much higher degree of variance based on the keyword itself, the relation of the keyword being searched to the title, text and visible URL in the ad, etc&#8230;</p>
<p>You have to do <a title="keyword research" href="http://www.seoinc.com/keyword-research/">keyword research</a>. Some keywords lend themselves to a higher percentage of PPC clicks. These are typically terms related to purchases&#8230; the statistics that I have seen vary widely but all indicate that if the person is in an information gathering / research mode, they tend to click on the organic results. However, if a person is closer to making a purchase then the PPC click through rate increases significantly. As you know this tends to be especially true for the longer tail more specific terms&#8230; in many people&#8217;s minds paid advertising is closely related to coupons or other advertised savings and this may be a factor in a persons decision to look at paid vs. organic listings.</p>
<p><span id="more-1020"></span>When you look at click through rates for PPC you will see ads with click through rates anywhere from under 1% to as high as 30%. Again, this really just depends on the keyword, the ad, and the nature of the product or service being represented, etc&#8230;</p>
<p>To understand what is a good click through rate you really need to look at the Net Profit per conversion. Then through keyword analysis we can get a good understanding of what the Cost Per Click will be and how many clicks they can expect to receive for that term based on historical information. Then we can get an understanding of what type of conversion rate we need to achieve in order to ensure a profitable campaign.</p>
<p>It is better to have a 2% click through rate with a 10% conversion, than it is to have a 3% click through rate with 5% conversion.</p>
<p>Honestly, an 8-10% click through rate is outstanding.</p>
<p>But click through does not tell the whole story. All that really matter is ROI. If you want to know how to set proper goals for a PPC campaign, what you really need to do is understand this equation:</p>
<p>(Cost Per Click) x (estimated clicks per day) = Estimated Campaign Costs per day<br />
(estimated clicks per day) x (conversion rate for landing page) = estimated new clients per day<br />
(Campaign Costs per day) / (estimated new clients per day) = Cost Per Acquisition<br />
(Net Profit per new client) &#8211; (Cost Per Acquision) = ROI per new client<br />
(ROI per client) x (estimated new clients per day) = Estimated daily profits from campaign</p>
<p>Example:<br />
On average they make $50 per new client<br />
CPC = $1<br />
Estimated clicks per day = 100<br />
Conversion rate for landing page = 10%</p>
<p>Then, here is an example campaign analysis:</p>
<p>($1) x (100) = $100 estimated campaign costs per day<br />
(100) x (.1) = 10 estimated new clients per day<br />
($100) / (10) = $10 estimated cost per acquisition<br />
($50) &#8211; ($10) = $40 ROI per new client<br />
($40) x (10) = $400 Estimated daily profits from campaign</p>
<p>&#8220;The only question is&#8230; why aren&#8217;t you doing this already?&#8221;</p>
<p>The truth is, once you understand this you will be able to set reasonable goals for a PPC campaign, but still, the only way to meet or exceed those goals is through top notch implementation and campaign management. That is where we come in!</p>
<p>For a quick campaign analysis contact:<br />
David Hall<br />
davidh@seoinc.com<br />
760.444.9259</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/what-is-pay-per-click-quality-score/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">What is Pay Per Click Quality Score?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/432/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">PPC Management is like a Potato Farm</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/why-social-media-helps-ppc-conversions/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Why Social Media Helps PPC Conversions</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/is-google-adwords-losing-its-edge/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Is Google AdWords Losing it’s Edge?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/managing-stakeholders-expectations/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Managing Stakeholders expectations</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
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		<title>Google Rolls Out “Google Tags” Nationally</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-rolls-out-google-tags-nationally/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-rolls-out-google-tags-nationally/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 30 Jun 2010 20:11:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Places Paid results]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Tags]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Loca business advertising]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=781</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Google had been experimenting in selected cities with a beta program so SEO Inc was right there learning this new tactic. Local businesses could pay to make their listing stand out from the crowd for a flat monthly fee of $25. The program was essentially an enhancement of the listings on the “7-pack” map listing. [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google had been experimenting in selected cities with a beta program so SEO Inc was right there learning this new tactic.  Local businesses could pay to make their listing stand out from the crowd for a flat monthly fee of $25. The program was essentially an enhancement of the listings on the “7-pack” map listing.  See below:</p>
<div id="attachment_783" class="wp-caption alignnone" style="width: 555px"><img src="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Google-Tags.jpg" alt="Google Tags for local businesses" title="Google Tags" width="545" height="389" class="size-full wp-image-783" /><p class="wp-caption-text">Google Tags for local businesses</p></div>
<p>Google Tags is now out of beta and available nationwide. For local businesses that rely on Google searches, this is now a way to stand out from the crowd with your own special offer or message in the map 7-pack.  For now, they are relatively rare and stand out.  As Google Tags become ubiquitous, it might be the price of admission.</p>
<p>Here’s what Google had to say about this new feature:</p>
<p>For a flat monthly fee of $25, businesses can enhance their listings that appear on Google.com and Google Maps with a yellow tag that emphasizes specific information such as a coupon, video, website, menu, reservations, photos, or a custom message. Tags do not affect the ranking of the listings, and we clearly indicate which parts of the search result are sponsored.</p>
<p>As with all things Google, expect the paid listings to expand over time and start to overwhelm the free listings. To learn more and try it out, please visit <a title="Google Tags" href="http://www.google.com/help/tags" target="_blank">Google Tags</a>. </p>
<p>If you need help with your Google Places listing, Local Search Optimization or want to be a head of the curve with Google Tags contact us today.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/poll-could-changing-your-meta-tags-result-in-more-google-1s/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">POLL: Could Changing your Meta Tags Result in More Google +1s?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/should-you-add-tags-to-wordpress/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Should you Add Tags to your WordPress Website?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/local-seo/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Local SEO: The 5 C Approach</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/are-facebook-open-graph-tags-the-future-of-social-media-optimization/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Are Facebook Open Graph Tags the Future of Social Media Optimization?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-nova-a-wordpress-search-engine-optimization-must/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Nova | A WordPress Search Engine Optimization Must!</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>PPC Management is like a Potato Farm</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/432/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/432/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 15 Apr 2010 18:38:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>JC</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Internet marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC Campaign]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=432</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Pay Per Click marketing is as simple as choosing some keywords, creating a few ads, and letting the campaign run, right? Not quite; efficient paid search marketing campaigns require constant upkeep as well as ad and keyword testing. I read an article on Search Engine Land this morning about crucial steps in building a PPC [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div id="attachment_438" class="wp-caption alignright" style="width: 210px"><img class="size-medium wp-image-438" src="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/iStock_0000087713993-200x300.jpg" alt="Good PPC Management Means a Happy Potato" width="200" height="300" /><p class="wp-caption-text">Good PPC Management Means a Happy Potato</p></div>
<p><a title="PPC Management" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/">Pay Per Click</a> marketing is as simple as choosing some keywords, creating a few ads, and letting the campaign run, right? Not quite; efficient paid search marketing campaigns require constant upkeep as well as ad and keyword testing.</p>
<p>I read an <a href="http://searchengineland.com/10-crucial-questions-before-building-your-ppc-campaign-39843">article </a>on Search Engine Land this morning about crucial steps in building a PPC campaign and completely agree with the “one best piece of advice” that was given. “Once the account is live, it will need to be robust enough to test many different types of targeting, various keywords, ad messages and so on.,</p>
<p>When I create an account, I plan on it growing in the near future. I structure it so that there are many different segments that can be easily and quickly modify or paused without disturbing the rest of the account.</p>
<p><span id="more-432"></span></p>
<p>Having grown up on a potato farm, I’d like to use a farming metaphor. When you plant potatoes, you don’t just put them in the ground and move on until harvest time. They need constant attention: watering, fertilizing, and ridding the surrounding area of any weeds. PPC accounts are like potato plants. With constant attention to keyword performance, ad text relevance and many other key factors, your account can flourish.</p>
<p>It always surprises me how certain keywords can outperform what were initially considered more important keywords. If the account was hastily set up and then left to run by itself, many opportunities for conversions would be missed. The harvest would be pretty sad. By constantly monitoring traffic, clicks, conversions, and cost per conversion, essential changes can be made to getting the most bang for your buck. The same goes for ads- your ads should speak to your target audience in a timely and relevant manner.</p>
<p>That’s where having Paid Search Managers like myself come in handy. While you are focusing on doing what you do best, we are making sure that your account is getting the nourishment it needs. Through diligence in analyzing how customers search within your industry, your PPC campaign can more than pull its weight as part of your<a href="http://www.seoinc.com/search-engine-optimization/"> search engine optimization</a>.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/ppc-click-through-rates-vs-roi-whats-really-important/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">PPC Click Through Rates vs. ROI: What&#8217;s Really Important?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/what-is-pay-per-click-quality-score/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">What is Pay Per Click Quality Score?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/bizarro-seo-pay-click-advertising/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Bizarro SEO: Pay Per Click Advertising</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/perfect-your-sem-swing/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Perfect Your SEM Swing</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/why-social-media-helps-ppc-conversions/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Why Social Media Helps PPC Conversions</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
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		<title>Why Social Media Helps PPC Conversions</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/why-social-media-helps-ppc-conversions/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/why-social-media-helps-ppc-conversions/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 08 Apr 2010 22:38:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>JC</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media Campaign]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social networking]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=394</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[If you haven’t already realized it from reading anything that John has written on here, Social Media is critical and extremely helpful when it comes to search engine optimization. As a Paid Search Manager, my focus has been more on pay-per-click campaigns on the major search engines rather than on social media sites. However, after [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>If you haven’t already realized it from reading anything that John has written on here, Social Media is critical and extremely helpful when it comes to <a href="http://www.seoinc.com/search-engine-optimization/">search engine optimization</a>. As a Paid Search Manager, my focus has been more on <a href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/">pay-per-click</a> campaigns on the major search engines rather than on social media sites. However, after reading a report on Gigya that said that nearly 20% of social consumers are now using social networks as their core navigation tool, I’ve been thinking of how to successfully combine paid search campaigns and social networking strategies.</p>
<p>Social media is, naturally, going to strengthen brand awareness. Because of this, consumers are more likely to click on paid search ads because they are more familiar with your company. So, with a strong social media based brand campaign, people are going convert on your ad when searching for your product or service, which will improve your click through rate and improve your quality score.</p>
<p><span id="more-394"></span></p>
<p>Some social media sites let you create PPC ads which can use strategies similar to Adwords. Other sites like YouTube need to be more thoughtful, using longer tail keywords to find that target audience. Either way, taking the time to become familiar with each site’s structure is going to be time well spent.</p>
<p>When all is said and done, the smarter companies are going to fuse paid search campaigns with social media campaigns. Both have different methods and approaches but complement each other to reach the same goal: increased ROI. The more that these are managed together with a similar brand and theme messages, the more likely you are going to see that increased ROI. By using both paid search and social media, you can have your cake and eat it too.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/is-google-adwords-losing-its-edge/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Is Google AdWords Losing it’s Edge?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/paid-search-marketing-and-search-engine-optimization-a-perfect-pair/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Paid Search Marketing and Search Engine Optimization: A Perfect Pair</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/social-media-marketing-campaigns-now-possible-on-linkedin/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Social Media Marketing Campaigns Now Possible on LinkedIn</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/top-5-ppc-wishes-2009/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Top 5 PPC Wishes for 2009</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/think-outside-the-searchbox/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Think Outside the (Search) Box</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Google Adwords Authorized Reseller Program to Shut Down</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-adwords-authorized-reseller-program-to-shut-down/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-adwords-authorized-reseller-program-to-shut-down/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 31 Mar 2010 18:22:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Brad</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Google Adwords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC Management]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=356</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[While there has been no official announcement from Google and their Authorized Reseller program website is still live, rumors have been swirling that Google is ending it&#8217;s Authorized Adwords Program. The program as it exists today includes around 30 PPC Management companies and was designed to allow these companies to provide pay per click management [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>While there has been no official announcement from Google and their Authorized Reseller program website is still live, rumors have been swirling that Google is ending it&#8217;s Authorized Adwords Program. The program as it exists today includes around 30 <a title="PPC Management" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/">PPC Management</a> companies and was designed to allow these companies to provide <a title="Pay Per Click Management" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/">pay per click management</a> services (Google Adwords) to the local SMB market. Companies who get approved in the program must achieve and maintain a client base of over 500 clients and get free API access.<br />
<span id="more-356"></span><br />
<strong>Why is this a good thing for agencies and small businesses (SMB&#8217;s)? </strong><br />
The program has been a great way for Google to gain more customers from the SMB space but has not been good for the SMB&#8217;s themselves due to the extreme markups by the Authorized Resellers and the lack of transparency to the SMB&#8217;s. For example, we have brought on clients who were previously using companies in Google&#8217;s Authorized Reseller program and found that they were getting only half of the clicks they should have been getting for the money they spent. We also spoke with a couple of the resellers about partnerships in order to funnel some of the smaller budget clients that our company could not service. We never formalized anything but quickly realized if they were willing to pay us 15% of the client&#8217;s ad spend just for the referral, they must be marking up the client&#8217;s ad spend to at least 30% and likely even higher. Google&#8217;s own website even advised the resellers to use a &#8220;Top Down&#8221; pricing approach including 50% margins. The business models spreadsheet on Google&#8217;s reseller website all include 45% margins (see <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.google.com/adwordsresellerinfo/business.html">http://www.google.com/adwordsresellerinfo/business.html</a>)</p>
<p>This type of markup is unheard of in the SEM agency world where a good <a title="ppc management company" href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/">PPC Management company</a> may use a variety of pricing models for their services but rarely mark up more than 20% of ad spend and are typically closer to 10-15% of ad spend.</p>
<p>For SMB&#8217;s, this change will ultimately force PPC Management companies to be more transparent about their fees which is a good thing for the SMB&#8217;s that were not getting as much as they paid for. For agencies, it will be a good thing too and level the playing field. The market will become more competitive and SMB&#8217;s will pick agencies based on service an results.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/google-announces-new-adwords-certification/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Google Announces New Adwords Certification</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-inc-achieves-google-adwords-certification/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc Achieves Google AdWords Certified Partner Status!</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-inc-ranks-top-ten-in-pay-per-click/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc. Ranks Top Ten In Pay Per Click</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-inc-launches-innovative-social-media-management-service/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc. Launches Innovative Social Media Management Service!</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/ppc-click-through-rates-vs-roi-whats-really-important/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">PPC Click Through Rates vs. ROI: What&#8217;s Really Important?</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Paid Search Marketing and Search Engine Optimization: A Perfect Pair</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/paid-search-marketing-and-search-engine-optimization-a-perfect-pair/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/paid-search-marketing-and-search-engine-optimization-a-perfect-pair/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 19 Mar 2010 21:03:49 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>JC</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Paid Search Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEO Inc]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=330</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Paid Search Marketing is an often overlooked and misunderstood method of search engine marketing. Many companies ask “why should we pay for sponsored links when we are showing up in the organic results?” There are several reasons why paid search marketing methods like pay per click (PPC) are not only beneficial, but crucial to your [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/" target="_blank">Paid Search Marketing</a> is an often overlooked and misunderstood method of <a href="http://www.seoinc.com/search-engine-marketing-services/" target="_blank">search engine marketing.</a> Many companies ask “why should we pay for sponsored links when we are showing up in the organic results?”</p>
<p>There are several reasons why paid search marketing methods like pay per click (PPC) are not only beneficial, but crucial to your search engine optimization strategy.</p>
<ul>
<li>First, you are dominating more real estate on the search page. People are more willing to purchase from companies they are more familiar with, so the more your company’s name shows up the more that will be reinforced.</li>
<li>Studies have shown paid search has the highest ROI of all advertising/marketing vehicles (SEMPO Survey February 2007).</li>
</ul>
<p><span id="more-330"></span></p>
<ul>
<li>Paid search allows more control over your company, your brand, and your products or services. With PPC, you can deliver an ad at any point of the buying cycle that your customer is in.</li>
<li>Search ads result in offline sales as well. On average, there is a 46% increase in in-store dollars when a customer has seen an ad online.</li>
</ul>
<p>At SEO Inc we understand the importance of having PPC as part of your search engine marketing and to compliment your search engine optimization. As an agency with over a decade of experience in the industry, we are up to date with the best practices and have access to exclusive beta tools and cutting edge software.</p>
<p>Managing a successful paid search campaign requires attention and time. We commit ourselves to realizing your online marketing goals so you can focus on doing what you do best. Give paid search marketing a try and you are sure to see the results you have been looking for.</p>
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		<title>Maximizing SEM Presence With an Integrated Approach</title>
		<link>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/maximizing-sem-presence/</link>
		<comments>http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/maximizing-sem-presence/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 16 Jul 2009 23:07:22 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Brad</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing strategy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/?p=258</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Isn’t it wonderful to have the internet at our finger tips? The technology environment is shifting on what seems to be a daily basis and the Y-generation takes to zeros and bits like ducks take to water. Search Engine Marketing knocks the socks off traditional media. So, as a result any company B2C or B2B [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Isn’t it wonderful to have the internet at our finger tips? The technology environment is shifting on what seems to be a daily basis and the Y-generation takes to zeros and bits like ducks take to water. Search Engine Marketing knocks the socks off traditional media. So, as a result any company B2C or B2B needs to be ready with their marketing ammunition online. But why choose an integrated approach to Search Engine Marketing (SEM)?<span id="more-258"></span></p>
<p>When someone is going through the buying process whether it is a company or a consumer the basic steps are the same. First there is motivation, a problem is recognized and the next step is doing an internal or external search. Internal search implies going off of what they know or have experienced, where external search means they seek out information outside of themselves. That’s when SEM comes into play!</p>
<p>By incorporating SEM a company is able to meet a specific need immediately when a website is probed by a search engine, but not so fast! The spiders and crawlers are not that philanthropic. Oh if it were only that easy! In order to take advantage of SEM, the interactive marketing strategy needs to apply <a href="http://www.seoinc.com/search-engine-optimization/">Search Engine Optimization (SEO)</a>, <a href="http://www.seoinc.com/ppc-management/">Pay-Per-Click (PPC)</a>, and Social Media Marketing (SMM). Let’s rewind and understand how an integrated approach can benefit your business and how to get the best results since it is not automatic.</p>
<p>1. Consolidate SEO, PPC, and SMM under one umbrella. By utilizing one company you ensure that there is frequent interdepartmental communication (well you can’t ensure it, but any good SEM agency will make communication a priority, so remember to hold them accountable).</p>
<p>2. Next, remember the advantage of SEM compared to other advertising is that you can be at the right place at the right time. Do not lose out on this opportunity! I can not stress this enough. If you have a beautiful website with a great product or service or even pride your offering as unique and in high demand, but do not use SEO, PPC and SMM collectively, your website will be lost in the internet abyss.</p>
<p>3. Maximize your SEM presence. It is not enough just to do one element of SEM. If you have incorporated SEO (which entails much more than making your site readable by the search engines btw), but do not use PPC, you have knowingly or unknowingly shaved off a chunk of your target audience. It is impossible to appear in the top of the SERPs for all your terms; PPC is your presence savior in this instance and gives you the ability to measure results.</p>
<p>4. Some companies decide PPC is their SEM strategy, but what you don’t know can hurt you. PPC prospers with SEO. Search engines have the ability to evaluate your landing page and influence your maximum cost-per-click (CPC) bid based on the relevance of the page. With SEO your page is more transparent and can have more authority which increases the quality of the page for PPC.</p>
<p>5.Last but not least, SMM is the icing on the cake. Think of SMM as support media to your online marketing mix. Start interacting with your target audience in those areas where they spend their time online. Inspiring your target audience beyond your product or service facilitates a relationship and potentially engages your audience on the internal level rather than the external. It’s money if they think of you first.</p>
<p>So all in all, an integrated approach to your online presence maximizes your SEM. Each element of SEM supports the other by filling in the gaps and providing you with a comprehensive holistic campaign strategy. Don’t go solo with one element, you will be expecting the results of an integrated approach and be left disappointed.</p>
<div id="crp_related"><h3>Related Posts:</h3><ul><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/perfect-your-sem-swing/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Perfect Your SEM Swing</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-inc-launches-innovative-social-media-management-service/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc. Launches Innovative Social Media Management Service!</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/size-and-search/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Does Size Matter &#8211; in SEO?</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/social-media-marketing-campaigns-now-possible-on-linkedin/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">Social Media Marketing Campaigns Now Possible on LinkedIn</a></li><li><a href="http://www.seoinc.com/seo-blog/seo-sets-focus-seo-friendly-web-development/" rel="bookmark" class="crp_title">SEO Inc. Sets Focus on SEO Friendly Web Development</a></li></ul></div>]]></content:encoded>
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